They stab it with their steely knives, But they just can’t kill the beast

Daily Post: It’s Your Song

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.

It’s also a pretty good line to sing while I play Shadow of the Colossus.

My dad has a lot of family living in the city where I commute to school. It’s about a 35 minute drive, and whenever we go to family functions – cousin’s birthdays, Christmas gatherings, weddings, Quinceañeras, santos – my two younger sisters and I go together in my car. It’s a Toyota of a little known 2007 model, but it’s decent on gas and it has an auxiliary plug. This is absolutely essential because we all have an iPhone and the best part of the trip is plugging one in and blasting some music. If it’ light out, we roll the windows down and scream/sing at anyone else on the freeway.

Our favorites are some classics: Hotel California, Bohemian Rhapsody, Bennie and the Jets, peppered with Skrillex, PSY and some kid calls himself Mac Miller.

When we sing Hotel Califnornia, we always belt out one line as loud and with as much emotion as we can – They stab it with their steely knives, But they just can’t kill the beast!

I’ve given up trying to figure out what this song is actually about. My writer’s imagination has concocted something to satisfy me. This line gives me a particularly clear image in the story of a group of lost souls dressed to the rotting nines, stabbing at a carcass of what could have once been a feast bird.

It’s very philosophical to me, though, because if I think about it enough, there are plenty of beasts in my life that I have stabbed at – and continue stabbing at – without success. Some day I might break the skin somewhere.

Leave a Reply

